Image of a blue horizontal stripped patternImage of a blue horizontal stripped pattern

Brenden Gali

Brenden Gali is a second generation Filipino Settler on Turtle Island born and raised on Treaty 1 territory. Currently studying at the University of Winnipeg, he is pursuing his bachelor of arts doubling majoring in English and Film. Prior he spent two terms elected to the University of Winnipeg Students’ Association (UWSA) as both Vice President Student Affairs, and Vice President Internal Affairs (2017-2019). In 2018-2019 Brenden served as the Racialized Commissioner for the Canadian Federation of Students – Manitoba executive committee. In this role, he worked with students at large and the national executive in organizing the second Prairies RISE event held at First Nation University in Saskatchewan.

While attending the University of Winnipeg, Brenden has had the privilege in supporting student initiatives such as Divestment Campaigns, mental health supports on campus, anti-racist workshops and panels, and continuously been advocating for lower tuition and accessible education.

Elected in April 2019, Brenden hopes to continue the work of the organization and collaborating with partners for a better and more equitable post-secondary education.

Qudus AbuselehImage of a blue horizontal stripped patternImage of a blue horizontal stripped pattern

Qudus Abusaleh
Deputy Chairperson

Qudus Abusaleh is a 4th-year Political Studies student at the University of Manitoba. For over two years, he was on the executive committees at the University of Manitoba’s Muslim Students Association and the Arab Students Association. He has also served as the federation’s 2019/2020 Racialized Commissioner. Outside of school, Qudus is the External Vice-Chair at Sawa Theatre and President of Unpack Your Potential, a Muslim Youth Leadership Program.

As Deputy Chairperson, Qudus is committed to helping shape a strong student movement in the province to ensure all students are equitably represented.

alex koslockImage of a blue horizontal stripped patternImage of a blue horizontal stripped pattern

Alexandra Koslock

Alexandra Koslock is the second generation of two closed case adoptions. She was raised and lives on Treaty 1 Territory. She will be graduating in June 2020 with a major in International Development and a minor in Urban and Inner City Studies. Alexandra has been engaged with student politics over the past two years and has sat on the MSCSA and the UWSA. She hopes to pursue a JD in law, or an MA in International Relations/Development.

Alexandra organized Rally for Refuge alongside other folks in the community; an event that demanded the government to rescind the Safe Third Country Agreement with the US. Alexandra has advocated against high textbook costs, lack of bursaries and grants post-undergrad, and supported many initiatives for mental health during the course of her degree. Most recently, she organized a planning committee to screen the National Film Board of Canada series: Freedom Road, directed by local Shoal Lake 40 First Nation member Angelina McLeod. Through the UWSA, she wrote to the City Council and denounced the increased costs of the UPass program. Alexandra is active in the community in different capacities and tries to support others through various events and initiatives.

After supporting the endeavors of the Federation the past few years Alexandra was excited to be elected in April 2020 for Treasurer in Manitoba. She will continue to foster relationships with students, ensure that university is accessible by raising the voices of other folks in the community, and contribute meaningfully to the legacy of the Federation. She looks forward to collaborating with community partners on events and initiatives over the next year.

Meet Your 2020-2021
Provincial Executive!

Local 08 – UWSA Representative:
Breanna Belisle

Local 37 – BUSU Representative:

Local 38 – AEUSB Representative:

Local 96 – UMGSA Representative:

Local 103 – UMSU Representative:
Jelynn Dela Cruz

Circle of First Nations, Metis and Inuit Students’ Commissioner:
Shawna Peloquin, Local 08

International Students’ Commissioner:
Marie Paule Ehoussou, Local 38

LGBTTQ* Students’ Commissioner:
Mahlet Cuff, Local 08 


Manitoba Organizer: Elizabeth Shearer

Campaigns Assistant: Jonathan Northam

Image of CFS Manitoba's logo on top of a background with students sitting around a table

Get Involved

Image of dark blue stripped pattern

Sign up here: